NYCMRC Community

  New York

  New Jersey


NYCMRC Community

The New York Metropolitan Area

The New York metropolitan area, also known as Metropolitan New York, Greater New York, or the Tri-State Region/Area, is the most populous metropolitan area in the United States and is also one of the most populous in the world.

The metropolitan area is defined by the U.S. Office of Management and Budget as the New York-Northern New Jersey-Long Island, New York-New Jersey-Pennsylvania Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA), with an estimated population of 19,069,796 (roughly 1 in 16 Americans) as of 2009.

The MSA is further subdivided into four metropolitan divisions. The 23-county metropolitan area includes ten counties in New York State (those coinciding with the five boroughs of New York City, the two counties of Long Island, and three counties in the lower Hudson Valley); 12 counties in Northern and Central New Jersey; and one county in northeastern Pennsylvania.

The New York metropolitan area is called the largest urbanized area in the United States.

Components of the metropolitan area

The counties and county groupings constituting the New York metropolitan area are listed below with 2009 U.S. Census Bureau estimates of their populations.

New York-Northern New Jersey-Long Island, NY-NJ-PA Metropolitan Statistical Area (19,069,796)

New York-White Plains-Wayne, NY-NJ Metropolitan Division (11,732,233)
Kings County (Brooklyn), NY
Queens County, NY
New York County (Manhattan), NY
Bronx County, NY
Richmond County (Staten Island), NY
Westchester County, NY
Bergen County, NJ
Hudson County, NJ
Passaic County, NJ
Rockland County, NY
Putnam County, NY

Nassau-Suffolk, NY Metropolitan Division (2,875,904)
Suffolk County
Nassau County

Edison-New Brunswick, NJ Metropolitan Division (2,335,390)
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Ocean County
Somerset County

Newark-Union, NJ-PA Metropolitan Division (2,126,269)
Essex County, NJ
Union County, NJ
Morris County, NJ
Sussex County, NJ
Hunterdon County, NJ
Pike County, PA

Convenient Transportation

Commuter rail

The metropolitan area is partly defined by the areas from which people commute into New York City. The city is served by three primary commuter rail systems plus Amtrak.

An Acela Express train going to New York City. The Acela Express is the first and only high-speed rail service in the country.

The Long Island Rail Road (LIRR), the busiest commuter railroad in the United States, is operated by the Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA), an agency of New York State. It has two major terminals at Pennsylvania Station in Midtown Manhattan and Flatbush Avenue in Downtown Brooklyn, with a minor terminal at Long Island City station and a major transfer point at Jamaica station in Queens.

Metro-North Railroad (MNRR), the second busiest commuter railroad in the United States, is also operated by the MTA, but in conjunction with the Connecticut Department of Transportation and New Jersey Transit. Its major terminal is Grand Central Terminal. Trains on the Port Jervis Line and Pascack Valley Line terminate at Hoboken Terminal; commuters may transfer at either Secaucus Junction for New Jersey Transit trains to New York Pennsylvania Station or at Hoboken Terminal for PATH trains into Manhattan.

New Jersey Transit (NJT), the third busiest commuter railroad in the United States by passenger miles and also third in trips when direct operated and purchased transportation services are both included (fourth if only direct operated are included), is operated by the New Jersey Transit Corporation, an agency of New Jersey, in conjunction with Metro-North and Amtrak. A map of the system can be found here. It has major terminals at Pennsylvania Station in Manhattan, Hoboken Terminal in Hoboken, and Pennsylvania Station in Newark, with a major transfer point at Secaucus Junction. New Jersey transit also operates a light rail system in Hudson County, as well as the Newark City Subway. NJ Transit also consists of commuter buses operating in and out of Manhattan.

Amtrak's Northeast Corridor offers service to Philadelphia, New Haven, and other points between and including Boston and Washington, D.C.

Commuter bus

New Jersey Transit, Academy Bus, Coach USA, Adirondack Trailways (under the names of New York Trailways, Pine Hill Trailways, as well as Adirondack Trailways) and several other companies operate commuter coaches into the Port Authority Bus Terminal in Manhattan, and many other bus services in New Jersey. Bus services also operate in other nearby counties in the states of New York and Connecticut, but most terminate at a subway terminal or other rail station.

And other Highways

Major airports

The metropolitan area is served by all of three well-known major airports in Greater New York area.


IATA code

ICAO code



John F. Kennedy International Airport




New York

Newark Liberty International Airport




New Jersey

LaGuardia Airport




New York